Skip to content

Stronger Medicare Awards

The inaugural Department of Health and Aged Care Stronger Medicare Awards honour the contribution of people working in the primary care sector and showcase the vital role they play in Australia’s healthcare system.

The awards recognise Australia’s Medicare Champions – outstanding individuals and practices that provide exceptional care, embrace innovation, and work together to improve the health of our communities. Medicare Champions are people, teams and practices that go above and beyond to benefit patients.

Who is eligible for the Stronger Medicare Awards?

Primary care is a broad sector. Many individuals, teams, practices and health centres all make significant contributions to the health of Australians, while championing patient benefit. Eligibility for the Stronger Medicare Awards includes, but is not limited to:

  • individual health professionals working in or across primary care services
  • multi-disciplinary teams working in or across primary care services
  • individuals without professional healthcare qualifications that work for primary care services and help patients access care
  • primary care practices or health centres.

Assessment criteria

All nominees must address at least two of the following assessment criteria in their nomination. A nominee’s contribution must have been within the last 12 months.

  • A significant contribution to providing patient-centred primary care services to the community.
  • The delivery of better patient outcomes through new and innovative ideas.
  • A demonstrated commitment to successfully connecting patients to healthcare services in regional, rural, and remote areas.
  • A significant role in building collaborative patient care teams.
  • Working with diverse communities or vulnerable patients to navigate and provide access to health care.
  • A demonstrated commitment to providing quality health care in rural and regional areas.
  • An outstanding contribution to improving primary care in their community.

In the nomination process, you will need to select which two criteria you are addressing.

Nominations are now open.

Nomination statements addressing the selection criteria, along with supporting referee statements, must be submitted using the form below by AEST 5:30 pm on 30 June 2024.

Further information and nomination form.

Explore more news like this:

More about:

Primary Health Workforce

For audiences:

General Practitioner Health Professionals

Keep up to date with the latest.

Subscribe to our mailing list to get all the latest news updates delivered to your inbox.

Related News

July 13 2022

COVID Impact Survey reveals negative affect on wellbeing of primary care workers and management of chronic health conditions.

A negative influence on emotional and mental health of primary care staff and management of chronic health conditions has been identified as the two areas of most concern in primary care, following the results of the latest Primary Care COVID Impact Survey.

Learn more about COVID Impact Survey reveals negative affect on wellbeing of primary care workers and management of chronic health conditions.